Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not a garden post-A crafty post! April 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — motherofpearls @ 4:17 pm

I am smitten with the look of vintage “shabby chic” or french country decor with it’s clean white or black patina, distressed edges, delicate toiles or damask prints, carvings and mouldings and antique glass knobs. I especially love blogs that chronicle repurposing and refinishing pieces to get this look at a mere fraction of the cost in stores.  I have so many sites in my favorites, that I could never link them all, but usually when I have a project in mind, I google a title and search the images page for something that catches my eye.

For so long, I have wanted a bread box for our kitchen counter.  I was thinking something vintage-y, or maybe one of the cool metal ones, but I’ve yet to find one of those gems at the thrift shop. One day I noticed an ugly cream one with wildflowers painted on the front and thought, “hey, I could paint that!” For $3.13, a bargain was had. My google search turned up a few inspirations Here and here and here. I spray painted it black satin and then had Father of Pearls install the nickel pull and the decal. I ordered the custom decal from someone on eBay (can’t find the seller in my favorites right now) and I love how it turned out. I just learned that you can cut vinyl on the Cricut that my Mom just bought, so I can’t wait to try more projects. Here’s the lovely Before:

Before


After


You can click on the image to enlarge it. We loved how it turned out!

 

One Response to “Not a garden post-A crafty post!”

  1. Kristine Says:

    Really gorgeous!!! Love it!!


Leave a Reply

