Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

First Winter Sowing! February 17, 2011

Filed under: Garden,Winter Sowing — motherofpearls @ 7:22 pm

We finally got started on our winter sowing project!  The kids were HUGE helpers and worked together to get a system down quickly.

The Pearls each picked out seeds they wanted to try. They did beautifully scattering the teeny, tiny seeds on the dirt and in following directions perfectly on how much to cover up or not to cover each seed. Except when Mr. Pearl got overly (impatient) exhuberant:) with his “Sweet Alyssum” seeds and sowed some in Miss Pearl’s container of Impatiens.  Hopefully those aren’t wild germinators!

Our winter sowing record for 2-16-11:

#1  Lettuce-Green Ice-for our proposed container salad garden on the deck.
#2 Impatiens-Butterfly Hybrid Mix-annuals for pots & edging
#3 Alyssum-Royal Carpet-front yard incircling the pink flowering shrubs (who’s name escapes me) around the river birch!
#4 ”
#5 Dianthus-Ipswich Pinks-some area we turn into a cottage garden style perennial bed-see dream garden below
#6 Shasta Daisy-Silver Princess-ditto!
#7 ”

We got so many great tips at WinterSown.org like using plastic silverware for labeling containers. You can also write to WinterSown.org and receive free seeds to try out. We received so many exciting varieties of flowers and tomato seeds, we may need a bigger vegetable garden this year!

Speaking of free seeds, Amy, at Get Busy Gardening is hosting a great contest to highlight winter sowing with seed giveaways. I’m learning very quickly that you can never have too many seeds to sow! I think we’ll be able to winter sow thru our small stash quickly and be wanting more!  We’ve still got 20 some empty milk jugs and countless other containers we’ve been saving. We’re also hopefully to have plants to give as Mother’s Day gifts. So now we leave it in Mother Nature’s hands to work her magic!

 

3 Responses to “First Winter Sowing!”

  1. Hi motherofpearls,
    Congratulations on your first winter sowing project! I love that you made it a family project, you have little gardeners in the making there. This is one of the projects that my husband doesn’t help me with… and I like it that way. 🙂 I can’t wait to see your winter sowing results, I hope you end up loving it!

    Amy

    • Thanks Amy! I love that they share the joy of gardening. All summer long, the first thing they do when they get up is to check the garden to see what yummies ripened overnight! I barely got any berries last year as a result. I think I may be just as impatient as they are to see our first WS sprouts come springtime. Michele

  2. Hi Michele,
    Great news, you won my contest!! I don’t know if you’ve seen the post yet. I’m not sure how to contact you though. You should be able to email me through my blogger profile. If that doesn’t work, let me know and I will post my email address here.

    Congratulations!!
    Amy


Leave a Reply

