Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Mommy Test. Don't worry, there are no wrong answers. Does this image bother you? September 3, 2008

Filed under: Fun — motherofpearls @ 7:07 am

Lately, the Pearls have been in love with Play-doh, and at long last, they have been able to sit and play nicely together at the kitchen table for extended stretches, I know shocking isn’t it? For once, I was able to quietly get some household chores done, stopping by now and then when someone needed help. Except when I turned around from my task to see this… over Mister Pearl’s shoulder, I could see he was quietly heaping all of the colors of the new Play-doh we had just bought together in one big messy pile…

It brings to mind a funny article (don’t ask me where I read it now!) about you’re either a Clean Mom or a Messy Mom. In that, you can tolerate the messes that kids make all in the name of development and exploration, or you cannot handle it at all, much like Kate from Jon & Kate Plus 8 comes to mind. I think initially I was a Clean Mom, but have slowly moved towards Messy Mom (in so many more ways it seems…). If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em or something to that effect.

But suddenly seeing this conglomeration of Play-doh being lumped together, my Clean (Ok, somewhat formally anal) Mom instincts started buzzing at the sight of it. But then right out of earshot, I stood back to hear him crooning softly, “Birday too yoooo” And I snapped back to being Messy Mom just like that.

 

4 Responses to “A Mommy Test. Don't worry, there are no wrong answers. Does this image bother you?”

  1. Kristine Says:

    Haha… you know it’s my struggle too! Play Doh is the best picture of it, though!! Fun post 🙂

  2. melissa Says:

    mixed up play-doh…i think i just threw up in my mouth a little…
    if you’ll excuse me…i have to go check my play-doh stash and make sure there has been no mixing going on since the last usage!!
    thanks for stopping by! i’m marking you as a fave too!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Sometimes I fear I make Kate from Jon and Kate Plus 8 look like a messy messerton. I am nuts. Insane. Neurotic. Out of control. You could do surgery on my dining room table. If you’re a surgeon that is. But hey. It’s part of my charm.

    Thanks for the great review! Much appreciated!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Oh yeah. Your play dough picture made me shiver a little. And I may have curled into the fetal position and sucked my thumb for about a half hour. So not bad.


Leave a Reply

