Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fresh Tomatoes, anyone? August 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — motherofpearls @ 5:41 pm

I’m starting to lie awake at night wondering what we’ll do with all these tomatoes! Look at what we picked just today. My Mother in Law, who helped us immensely with planning and planting our garden, remarked, “Hmmm, we probably planted too many tomatoes!”

I found this recipe for Roasted Tomato Soup at You Grow Girl! Perfect, look at all those tomatoes it uses up. I did not have a food mill, but I pushed the tomatoes through my fine mesh colander and it was perfect. Since I’m a Campbell’s Tomato Soup junkie (Side note, ANYTIME, Campbell’s, that you want to rid this beloved soup of High Fructose Corn Syrup is fine by me…), this homemade soup’s taste was a bit too “real” for me! So I found this Food Network recipe and used the rest of that recipe to create our own Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup. It was pretty tasty, although I think my tastebuds have been ruined by good ‘ol Campbells, sad to say. Hey, it’s one of those tastes you grow up with that you can never shake.

 

2 Responses to “Fresh Tomatoes, anyone?”


Leave a Reply

