Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pearl Jam! August 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — motherofpearls @ 11:43 am

We did it! One more thing to cross off my list of things I’ve always wanted to try, but were too intimidated to do so! Wow, was it ever sweet though. I may have to experiment with the Low Sugar varieties of Pectin.

My Grandparents used to make a small batch of jam each summer and I was sorry that I never got to learn at their feet. But our Oldest Pearl and I tackled the task today and it really was not as difficult or as time consuming as I’d expected. I think it took about an hour and a half from start to finish. Not bad for our first time. We ended up with 7 jars of peach-goodness to share. I found a great blog that had a ton of ideas for using your peach jam, Chickens In The Road I want to make her “Grandmother Bread”.
Here are a few of the tools that made our job alot easier:
They say this Blue book is the Canning Bible.It is beautifully illustrated with great recipes and was only $6 at Target.

This Ball 4 piece Utensil Set for Preserving was terrific. $7 at Target and we had all we needed to make the job alot easier and safer.

It took some searching, but here is the Official Ball website. There is some terrific content on there to learn so much more.

 

Leave a Reply

