Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What Motherhood Means To Me – A Photo Contest April 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — motherofpearls @ 2:47 pm

The lovely site, 5 Minutes For Mom, has just begun their Mother’s Day 2008 Giveaway! Over the next two weeks leading up to the big day, they’ll be holding giveaways in celebration of us Moms! To kick off the event, they are holding a Photo Contest for Moms to submit a photo of “What Motherhood Means To Me”. After I got our Canon Rebel XTI (my third baby/Pearl!), I have snapped literally thousands of photos of the Pearls. And with my ever-discerning Mommy goggles, I love them all! But, immediately, I thought of this image, that moved me so much when I first saw it. Technically, it’s not a good photo at all, blown highlights everywhere. But if you were to peer into our crazy household on any given day, you’d see why this one is so precious. Most days, the Pearls spar like warriors and I spend all my energy and sanity breaking up squabbles, handling tears & bruised egos, doling out time outs & then kisses, trying in vain to teach them how important our siblings are in life and to be good to each other. Mostly, it’s still lost on them. But, there are these tender, stolen moments of quiet, shared play every once in awhile that leave me filled with hope & feeling like “it’s all worth it”.

 

3 Responses to “What Motherhood Means To Me – A Photo Contest”

  1. Elaine Says:

    I think it’s perfect – your photo and your words…

  2. Kristine Says:

    I love this photo!! Isn’t it encouraging to see them playing happily, even if it’s for fleeting moments? Makes my heart about BURST!

  3. Eva Says:

    HI Michele!

    I love the picture of your babies! I can’t believe how big they have gotten!

    Love –
    Eva


Leave a Reply

