Mother of Pearls & an Emerald

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back to Basics – Weight Watchers Garden Vegetable Soup April 22, 2008

Filed under: Recipes — motherofpearls @ 8:18 pm
Tags:

I’ve really been floundering lately with Weight Watchers. I’ll make no excuses, (well, really, I have a million if you have the time!) Truthfully, I just haven’t worked the program like I should. Each week, I make a half-hearted attempt to recommit myself to it. I still haven’t figured out what my biggest roadblock is, more than likely the activity points. And I thought chasing two rambunctious preschoolers would alone render me a skinnier mom! You should see me chasing my youngest Pearl (all boy) all.day.long. Oh, and the journaling… My leader hinted that maybe I should think about trying Core. I’m too scared to let go of the Points. And I know while I strive to eat like Core, really, I am not all the way there yet.

One thing that worked well in the beginning and that I need to return to is relying on the basics. One is making the trusty, Zero Point Weight Watchers Garden Vegetable Soup recipe from the very first Getting Started book. It’s a simple recipe that tastes a million times better than any canned soup (sorry, Progresso and your sorry 0 point soups). The recipe freezes well so you can make a huge batch ahead of time.

Weight Watchers Garden Vegetable Soup

2/3 cup sliced carrot
1/2 cup diced onion
2 garlic cloves
3 cup broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable) or try any of the Watkins wonderful soup bases
1 1/2 cup diced green cabbage
1/2 cup green beans
1 Tbsp. tomato paste
1/2 tsp. Watkins dried basil
1/4 tsp. Watkins dried oregano
Any other Watkins seasonings to taste!
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup diced zucchini

1. In a large saucepan, sprayed with nonstick cooking spray, saute carrot, onion, and garlic over low heat until softened, about 5-8 minutes.

2. Add broth, cabbage, beans, tomato paste, basil, oregano, and salt; bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer, covered about 15 minutes or until beans are tender.

3. Stir in zucchini and heat 5 minutes. Serve hot.

Really, this is just a base for any number of additions. You can pretty much toss in any veggie that you have on hand and season it in any way that you’d like. But it’s terrific as is. Hence, less is more. Enjoy. Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

